Saturday, August 9, 2008

Five official mascots of the 2008 Beijing Olympics

The five official mascots of the 2008 Beijing Olympics are collectively known as “Fuwa” (Literal meaning: dolls of blessing) and they represent the five Olympic rings from which they got their color.

The “Fuwa” was designed to express the playful qualities of five little children who form frienship, four of them comes from China's most popular animals (the Fish, the Panda, the Tibetan Antelope, the Swallow) and one wearing the Olympic flame.

Each of Fuwa has a rhyming two-syllable name (it is a expression of affection for children) — Beibei is the Fish, Jingjing is the Panda, Huanhuan is the Olympic Flame, Yingying is the Tibetan Antelope and Nini is the Swallow.

When you put their names together — Bei Jing Huan Ying Ni — they say “Welcome to Beijing”!

Beibei is a female fish that represents prosperity and harvest. Her personality is friendly, and a leader.
Jing Jing is a male panda and he brings the blessing of happiness. He is honest and optimistic.
Huanhuan is the big brother symbolizing the Olympic Flame and the passion of sport. He is extrovert and enthusiastic.
Yingying is a Tibetan antelope that represents vastness of China’s landscape. The antelope carries the blessing of health, the strength of body that comes from harmony with nature. Yingying is lively and independent.
Nini is the swallow. Her golden wings symbolize the infinite sky and spread good-luck as a blessing wherever she flies. Nini is innocent, kind and joyful.

Related Posts by Categories

About This Blog
Shaking some mixed ideas, news and opinion.

  © Blogger template 'Ultimatum' by 2008

Back to TOP